Lifestyle · My Vintage

Grease is the word

When I was nine years old every night after school I’d line up all my dolls in my bedroom as if we were all in the cinema, rewind my Grease video tape (this was back in the 90’s folks) and watch the heck out of it singing along to every song. I absolutely adored it and watched it to the point that it would no longer rewind – sad times.

Grease has always been one of my all time favourite films and has massively influenced the way I dress and my love for 50’s styled clothing and the whole 50’s theme really. So when a friend of mine asked me if I’d like to go see Grease in theatre of course I said yes!

The 1st of May soon came around and so did the show at Sunderland’s Empire Theatre with quite a little line-up indeed! It starredOver The Rainbow winner Danielle Hope as Sandy and EastEnders’ & Strictly Come Dancing’s Louisa Lytton as Rizzo.

IMG_20170501_193049_236

However, the main reason we were there was of course for Danny who was played by Wanted singer Tom Parker. You see my friend absolutely loves him and well I just go along with her don’t I.

We both really enjoyed the show and I loved all the outfits on stage. There were plenty of dresses I was swooning over.

There were a few minor disappointments, like Sandy was barely ever on stage and well as much as we all love Danny, Kenickie played a stronger role and was more suited with an American accent. All the same we still had a great time.

IMG_20170502_220854_784

I was all for dressing up but when push came to shove I just didn’t have enough time to get too dolled up so opted for my favourite pink polka dot Lindy Bop dress. I recently purchased a super cute pair of Nude ‘Dotty’ Mary Jane Court Shoes which match perfectly with the dress so I’ve been making sure I get my wear out of them.

So there you have it, with a super cheesy snap too! Did you see the show, what did you think?

Leave a Reply

